Removing the wires from a bra

 This blog post is going to be about how the fit of a bra changes when you remove the wires.

I will be using my Impimi Nicole bra, and the original review for that can be found here.

I chose this bra specifically because the wires are extremely painful for me. Literally when I put the bra on this morning the gore was stabbing me. I love the color of this bra, but it’s virtually unwearable with the wires.

 

What I did first was get the sharpest scissors I have and gently go back and forth with one end of the blade, against the wire channel above where the wire is.

 

The wire didn’t slip out easily, so I had to use a little force.

 

As you can see, the wires are definitely in a plunge shape.

 

Once I took the wires out, the cup immediately widened.

Left side has wire, right side does not.

Left side has wire, right side does not.

 

The width with the wire is about 5 inches

The width with the wire is about 5 inches

 

Without the wire the width is 6.5 inches

Without the wire the width is 6.5 inches

 

When putting the bra on after removing the wires I immediately felt a difference. For one, it was more comfortable, there was nothing stabbing me. With the wire removed there was nothing holding the cup into place, so on my bigger side the cup kind of collapsed. This bothered me very much. I found myself constantly touching my chest. It felt weird.

 

Here are some comparison pics

With the wires

Without the wires

 

You can see the cup is too small (now)

The cup looks a little lower without the wire.

 

The gore doesn’t tack.

This bra felt somewhat like a padded bralette. I’m not sure if I mentioned this, but I hate bralettes.

 

I don’t know what I’m going to do with this bra. I can’t wear it with the wires, and I don’t like it without the wires.

5 thoughts on “Removing the wires from a bra

Leave a comment